Schlagwörter

, , , , , , , , ,

Some years ago, there was a calendar of Iceland in my work. I was so impressed of the pictures and I wanted to travel to Iceland – my wife wanted too. One day we asked a couple of our friends, if they would like to come with us. So we planned the journey and decided to go to Iceland for eleven days in June 2013.

Before starting, we’ve read some travel guides and planned a Route around the whole Island. We are all „Geocachers„, and so my friend Caroline made a Pocket Query including the coordinates of all the interesting places and Geocaches. Many thanks to her – she had a lot of work with this.

I have to be thankfully to my mum, my father in law, our friend Nicky and one of our neighbors too, because they took care of our pets and our house while we were so far away.

It was my second flight journey, and i was very excited – but i had no fear.

The start in Munich

Image

During the flight

Image

Over Iceland, before the arrival in Reykjavik

Image

In front of the Reykjavik Airport

Image

As we had the Key for our rental car in our hands we started driving. This was very entertaining, because no one of us drove an automatic-car yet. We had enough to laugh about the accelerating and the breaking. With a little bit of practice, there was no problem at the other days and the two drivers (Andrew and I) had a lot of fun. Unfortunately on Icelandic roads there is a maximum speed of 90 km/h and 80 km/h on graveled roads allowed. So some times we drove too fast – day after day a little bit more 😉

We had a Skoda Superb and we all were impressed about this car’s size. Without any problems we could pack our suitcases in it.

Image

We saw a lot of beautiful nature, this picture shows you some grass and other plants under Water

Image

There is a National Park named Thingvellir, where the two continental plates (Eurasian and North American) are divergent.

Image

We saw a lot of impressive waterfalls

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Something special was to watch a Geysir in his own nature. I stood in front of it and couldn’t believe my eyes. The eruption of boiling water took only a few seconds and was enormous (watch the size of the man nearby). To take a picture is very difficult, because there were many photographers and you are waiting with them all for the right moment. It took me four or five times to get a good picture. At all, I think I’ve made about 60 pictures of this Geysir.

It happened about every five minutes.

Image

As we drove around, we found a lot of interesting places and always very impressive landscapes

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

impressive volcanic stones

Image

Image

a dried up river bed

Image

Some times the weather was very uninviting. Mostly windy, sometimes rainy but we had some days with sunshine and wind too.

Rain and wind:

Image

The logging of a Geocache in stormy weather :))

Image

with sunshine:

Image

There is no darkness in the Icelandic summer – only a few hours of twilight between midnight and four o’clock in the morning. This picture I made at around eleven at night:

Image

To be continued…

I’ll work on this post – there is a lot to show…